Potato Leek Pizza

I’ll be honest, I haven’t ever made my own pizza dough before. Something about using yeast scares me. (Maybe it has something to do with the label that insists it’s active and alive… kinda creepy if you ask me.) However, I learned how to make pizza dough in Italy and was instantly relieved. It’s so simple! Only a few ingredients and the questionable yeast is barely a bother. So going off of the Italian theme I had going the other night, I whipped up this yummy pizza from The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook I got for Christmas:

And I used this handy cookbook holder while I was at it (how cute?? another Christmas acquirement. Man, was Santa good to me 🙂 )

Anywho, this pizza. OMG.

It. was. delicious. The combination of potatoes, bacon, and leeks with ooey-gooey, melty cheese, and the fresh pizza dough, I was a pretty happy girl. With a very full tummy.

Ok, I was hesitant. Potatoes? On pizza? With leeks? (What are those anyway?) With no sauce? But it turned out to be amazing. You’ll just have to trust me on this one. The potatoes make a yummy topping, and the leeks with the bacon and cheese… yum. Seriously, yum. I wasn’t the only one who shared this enthusiasm, my mom and boyfriend were both huge fans. However, it was met with some mixed reactions from my brothers who I’m pretty sure just couldn’t wrap their heads around a sauce-less, pepperoni-less pizza with weird oniony things. So while this pizza might not suit any picky palates in your household, it definitely appealed to my more adventurous appetite.

Instead of ordering your pizza tonight, try this recipe out! It’s fun and different, and I promise won’t disappoint. Here’s the recipe!

Pizza Dough adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

1/2 tsp. active dry yeast

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

scant 1/3 cup olive oil

Pour 3/4 cup warm water into a bowl and sprinkle the yeast over top. Set aside. Combine flour and salt in a mixing bowl, and while mixing slowly drizzle in the olive oil until all is incorporated. Stir the yeast into the water, and drizzle mixture into the flour. Keep mixing until dough forms a ball. Take out of mixer and knead with hands if needed. Drizzle some olive oil in a bowl and place the dough inside. Cover the bowl with a moist towel and place somewhere warm for at least an hour or two. The dough will noticeably rise in stature until light and fluffy. (Funny how that yeast stuff works!)

Potato Leek Pizza from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

Pizza dough (above)

6 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled into pieces

3 leeks

5 small yukon gold potatoes, thinly sliced

1 lb. fresh mozzarella log

4 oz. goat cheese

parmesan cheese

olive oil

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 500 degrees F. Using your hands, push the dough into a round shape on a lightly oiled cookie sheet or pizza slab. Drizzle top with olive oil and salt. Sautee the bacon in a pan and drain the fat. Set aside. Cut leeks into small slices and add them to the pan with some olive oil. Sautee for a few minutes until they are tender. Place thin slices of potatoes on the surface of the pizza, overlapping as you go. Sprinkle with salt. Add thick slices of fresh mozzarella cheese, then add the sauteed leeks. Sprinkle the bacon pieces on top with some goat cheese, parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper. Bake for 8 to 11 minutes on a middle rack until the top is crispy and the edges of the crust is brown. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Courses, Pizza and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

