Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

If you know anything about me, you know one of my favorite restaurants is California Pizza Kitchen. For the longest time after I moved to Jacksonville from Dallas, we didn’t have one nearby. The closet one was in Orlando, so my mom and I would always look forward to shopping trips with a pit stop at CPK. I know it doesn’t sound extremely adventurous, but I love their food. It’s always fresh and delicious. So today, because it’s Tuesday and I had some frozen pizza dough left over from the other night, I adapted one of my favorite things on their menu: Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza.

Seeing as I promised some more healthier recipes in January (and I haven’t really done that with my previous pasta post…) I opted to change some things up to make a lighter version of this pizza.

Let me tell you, this pizza was to die for. I’ll be making it again, and again. And probably again. The juicy pears slightly caramelize in the oven creating a sweet aspect, but the tangy gorgonzola works beautifully to add more flavor. Pear and gorgonzola is probably one of my favorite combinations, and it just works on a pizza. I added some caramelized onions, sliced mozzarella, chopped up pecans, and a light drizzle of a balsamic reduction. This lunch was positively gourmet but so not hard to put together! Using part-skim mozzarella and a few sprinkles of gorgonzola to pack a big punch, and you’ve got a flavorful but light lunch to satisfy anyone’s healthy New Year Resolutions. I tossed some spinach and romaine in a few drops of light Ranch with a sprinkle of gorgonzola to add some fresh greens one the side (some argula would have been absolutely perfect, too.) You can’t go wrong with this pizza! Here’s my recipe, adapted from a few places. Enjoy!

Pizza dough (find the recipe, here)

Part-Skim Mozzarella (sliced or shredded)

Crumbled Gorgonzola Cheese

1 pear, cored and thinly sliced

1 small yellow onion, or half of a large one, sliced

Olive oil

Balsamic Vinegar

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 500 degrees F. Make your dough according to instructions, or use store bought variety. Press into round shape on greased pizza stone and sprinkle with salt. Cut onion into slices. Put 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a pan and turn heat to medium-high. When oil is simmering, place onions in the pan and let cook for at least 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, letting the onions brown and caramelize. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt (or sugar) and continue to stir until brown. Splash in a small amount of balsamic vinegar at the end. This will deglaze the pan and give the onions some nice flavor. Remove from heat and set aside. Layer or sprinkle the dough with mozzarella. Cover the top evenly with the caramelized onions. Then layer the slice pears on the top. Sprinkle with a few tablespoons of gorgonzola and chopped pecans (or walnuts). Add some fresh black pepper and salt and place on lower middle rack of oven (this will let the bottom of the dough get crispy.) Cook for 10-12 minutes until the cheese is melty and the edges of the crust are lightly browned. (If the top of your pizza looks like it’s burning just lower the temp a little.) While the pizza is cooking, add 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar to a small saucepan over medium heat; let simmer for 5 minutes until reduced and slightly thicker. Lightly drizzle over pizza slices and serve. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Courses, Pizza and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

