Tex-Mex Chili

Hello, there! I hope this post finds you all well. I’m sorry for the inactivity on my part for the past week or so, I’ve been settling back into a routine at school and trying to get everything squared away for my last semester of undergrad (yikes!). I can’t believe it’s coming to and end, but I’m so excited for what the future holds!

This past weekend was relaxing time spent with my boyfriend and friends, and with the current frigid temperature at night (30 degrees for Florida is COLD), it was a perfect night for cornbread and chili.

I invited another couple over, and we had a double-date night that was homey and relaxing. The girls had to fight for control of the tv, but we succeeded in getting to watch the Golden Globes. Like my pretty table-scape? I was channeling Sandra Lee. Without the semi-homemade nonsense.

This Chili is a recipe a learned from my mom, and it delicious as it is simple. I threw it in the Crockpot around 4, and we scarfed it down a couple hours later. This recipe can be easily lightened up with ground turkey if preferred; the Tex-Mex chili seasoning is what really makes this dish. It’s a little on the spicy side, so make sure to wait before you add any extra pepper or spices!

My family serves our Chili over macaroni noodles , and this addition might sound quirky, but once you’ve tried it, you’ll never go back. To this day, we’re not really sure how this tradition came about. Add a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of cheddar cheese to really complete the meal. Yum!

If you’re looking for a comforting meal with great flavor, try this out! Here’s the recipe 🙂

Tex-Mex Chili

1 pound ground beef or turkey

2 cans Mexican or Chili-ready dices tomatoes

1 can regular diced tomatoes

1 can rotel

1 can green chiles

1 packet Tex-Mex Seasoning

1 can beans (I used black)

1 medium-sized yellow onion

Chop up the onions and sautee with the meat until browned. Drain the fat. Sprinkle the seasoning over the meat and mix until incorporated. Add meat mixture to the Crockpot or large saucepan. Add tomatoes, Rotel, and green chiles. Let cook in Crockpot on High for 4 hours, Low for 6-8 hours, or bring to boil in a saucepan for 30 minutes or so if you don’t have all day. Add the black beans 30 minutes before serving to make sure they don’t get mushy. Serve over macaroni noodles (do it!) and with some sour cream and cheddar cheese. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Courses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

