Caprese Pizza

So, I know I’ve been on a pizza kick lately, but I’m just so darned excited about home-made pizza dough. And obsessed with how easy it is to make. (It was the first thing I made in my new Kitchenaid, btw!) I also have some waiting in the freezer for another go. What should I try next? I’m on the hunt for something good. Anyway, this pizza was super easy but fresh and delicious. A smathering of pesto, chunks of fresh mozzarella, and ripe tomatoes make up this Caprese pizza. (Smathering?)

If I was feeling really industrious, I would have made my own pesto in a food processor. However, I chose the easy route and bought a good ole’ jar of Genovese pesto at my local Publix. It still turned out super yummy.

(Sidenote: While I was in Italy we visited Cinque Terre, a series of fishing villages off the Ligurian coast. They are famous for their pesto, and I brought a coveted jar home with me. I thought it was something that could not be rivaled anywhere in the States, but little did I know it was imported every which way, and my poor little jar was no novelty. You don’t even have to buy it at a speciality food store, for heavens sake! On the other hand, I’m sure glad I don’t have to journey millions of miles to have a taste of Genovese pesto. I’m conflicted. And I digress…)

This pizza would be the perfect accompaniment to juicy piece of chicken for dinner, or the perfect thing for a light lunch. Here’s the super simple recipe!

Caprese Pizza

Pizza Dough, here

Fresh mozzarella (I used slices of the log version you can buy at any supermarket)

3 fresh tomatoes

Pesto

Parmesan

Preheat your oven to 500 degrees. Press pizza dough into desire shape on greased pizza stone or cookie sheet. Spread a layer of pesto over the pizza dough. Layer with slices of mozzarella, then slices of tomatoes. Sprinkle with parmesan, and some fresh pepper. Cook for 10 minutes until crust is slightly brown and cheese is bubbly. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Courses, Pizza and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

