Strawberry and Arugula Grilled Cheese

I’ve been seeing this particular sandwich on Pinterest lately and subsequently drooling at all the delectable possibilities it presented. Strawberries, goat cheese, arugula, and pepper jelly smooshed together on two pieces of bread and toasted to perfection. So delicious.

I really love cheese. Like really. On crackers, on sandwiches, on pasta… you get the idea. However, I have to really limit myself because it doesn’t exactly fit into my healthy regime that I’m (trying) to stick to right now. But that’s the beauty of goat cheese. It’s creamy and tangy but surprisingly good for you! (Don’t ask me for details, I’m just trusting Southern Living.)

Don’t be hesitant about the pepper jelly; it’s still sweet but has a kick that balances the sweet strawberries perfectly. And the arugula (boy, do I love arugula) adds the perfect peppery, leafy texture to this sandwich. I could eat this everyday.

This is a perfect lunch idea that won’t make you feel like you’ve ruined your whole day! Try it (please).

Strawberry and Arugula Grilled Cheese adapted from Southern Living

2 slices of bread

pepper jelly

strawberries

arugula

goat cheese (I used the crumbled variety, but the log version might be easier to spread)

olive oil

Heat some olive oil in a small pan. On one side the bread spread the goat cheese and add a couple of sliced strawberries. On the other spread a couple of tablespoons of pepper jelly and stack with arugula. Sprinkle with some salt if desired. Fold them together and place the sandwich on the heated pan. Toast each side until the cheese is melty. You could use a panini press but I ain’t got one of those. Slice and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Lunch, Sandwiches and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strawberry and Arugula Grilled Cheese

  1. Denise Bates says:

    This looks totally fantastic! Can’t wait to try it!!

Leave a Reply

