Homemade Fresh Spinach Pasta

It’s official. I’m obsessed with my KitchenAid mixer. And not just because it’s pretty.

Last week I had some spinach that I needed to use before it went bad and really wanted to perfect my artisan pasta making skills. I found this simple recipe from Martha Stewart and went to town on making my own spinach linguine. Delicious! If you’re freaked out by the spinach part, don’t be. You can’t taste the spinach, but you’re still getting a full serving of veggies. My ideal kind of meal.

So the downside of this post is that I don’t really have any pictures of the actual process. It was kind of impossible to hold a camera while strategically holding the pasta dough through the cutter. (What, you don’t make homemade pasta by yourself on a whim?) Although somewhat time-consuming,  cutting the pasta was not at all hard. I divided the dough into eight different pieces and put each through the pasta roller until very thin (6 on the KitchenAid attachment.) Then you replace the roller with the linguine cutter and thread the dough through. After I was done, I had eight perfect portions of pasta. I froze them in baggies; the pasta takes the same amount of time to cook, frozen or not.

 

This was so fun! I drizzled a light cream sauce over the top of the pasta and added a nice salmon filet.

And I have yummy, healthy pasta that will last me for a while. Here’s the recipe!

Spinach Pasta from Martha Stewart

6 oz. of spinach

2 large eggs

1 egg yolk

2 1/2 cups of flour

1 teaspoon of salt

Steam the spinach for a few minutes until bright green and softened. Let cool then press with a towel to drain excess water. In a food processor, puree the spinach. Add the eggs and egg yolk and puree until combined. Add the four and salt until a dough forms. Knead the dough on a floured surface for about 5 minutes. Cover and let sit for a few hours.

To make the pasta, cut the dough into 8 equal pieces. With a pasta attachment for your mixer (or just plain rolling pin), press the dough through each increment, starting on 1 and ending at 6. Then replace the roller attachment with the linguine cutter and press the thin dough through the cutter. Place on a cookie sheet. Repeat with all 8 pieces. Place in freezer until ready for use.

To boil the pasta, bring salted water to a boil. The pasta will only take a minute or two to boil. Don’t overcook! The pasta will rise to the surface when done. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Lunch, Main Courses, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

