Brownie Batter Cupcakes

Clearly, I’ve fallen off the wagon. But would you believe me if I said they were worth it? Every bite. Ooey gooey in the center, with a cakey shell, topped with the absolute best chocolate fudge icing. If you’re a chocolate lover like me, you cannot go wrong with these cupcakes!

They are seriously decadent, and not to mention time-consuming. These babies are for a special occasion affair, no doubt about it! I made them for a Super Bowl Party at my boyfriend’s work, and they were a hit. (They also won me $50!) I forgot to bring some back home with me and was so disappointed that I wasn’t going to be able to blog about them. But my boyfriend snapped some pictures (on his iPhone!), and I think they turned out great. I couldn’t not share them with you just because I’m a bonehead.

I made the brownie batter for the center the day before, and froze the individual balls over night. The great part about the batter is using a box mix (the sour cream, pudding mix, and chocolate chips don’t hurt either.) Making the icing in a processor is easy as pie. I have to make them in two batches because I have a smaller food processor, but you could also use a mixer if you’d prefer. Adding the corn syrup makes the icing shine that will make everyone think you bought it from the store. They’ll be so surprised (and impressed!) that you made it from scratch.

Did I mention that these were, well, decadent? Make these for a time when  your conscience is on vacay. If you know anything about my family, you know that The Super Bowl is definitely an occasion for such a time 🙂 Here’s the recipe, friends!

Brownie Batter Cupcakes from KevinandAmanda

For the brownie batter:

1/4 cup butter, melted
1/3 cup fat-free sweetened condensed milk
1/3 cup milk
1  box devil’s food cake mix (I used Betty Crocker)

Combine all the ingredients in a mixer until well incorporated, about a couple of minutes. Using a small ice-cream scoop or small teaspoon, form rounded balls on cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Freeze overnight.

For the cupcakes:

1 box devil’s food cake mix
1 (3.9 oz) pkg Jello instant chocolate pudding mix
1 cup sour cream
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup milk
2 cups mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Combine all the ingredients in a mixer except the chocolate chips. Once everything is mixed together, stir in the chocolate chips.  Fill lined cupcake tins about 2/3 of the way full. Take out your brownie batter balls and press down in the center of the cupcake batter. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until the tops are crispy and the cupcakes down jiggle outrageously. (Scientific, I know.)

For the fudge frosting:

5 sticks butter, softened (sorry)
8 oz powdered sugar
1.5 cups unsweetened cocoa powder (Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa is the best)
a pinch of table salt
1.5 cups light corn syrup
2 tsp vanilla extract
16 oz milk chocolate chips

Melt chocolate chips in the microwave on 30 second intervals. Allow to cool for 5-10 mins. Combine butter, sugar, cocoa and salt in a food processor and process until smooth. Make sure the scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. Add the corn syrup and vanilla and process until just combined. Scrape the bowl again, then add the melted chocolate and pulse until smooth and creamy. Plop the icing in a plastic bag, snip off the corner, and pipe away!

Makes about 36 cupcakes.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

