Homemade Tortellini

If you had asked me a couple of days ago how to make tortellini, I probably would have stared at you with a perplexed look on my face. How do you make tortellini? The process simply baffled me.

Well, folks, I am here to tell you I am no longer lacking this critical piece of information. And it’s so easy! Time-consuming, definitely. I even halved the recipe I found and still spent a good two hours in the kitchen making these cuties. Thank goodness I have a TV in my kitchen, so I tuned into The Oscars while I was rolling and filling. (I would say Viola Davis was robbed but you just can’t deny the magnificence that is Meryl Streep. And plus, I’d be too scared to offend her, like Oprah.)

Right, back to pasta. This recipe is simple and easy, but I took some pictures of the process so there’s no confusion. It definitely takes some practice, but after a few tries I was pro. I used a very simple dough and filling recipe. After making the dough, I let it sit for about an hour then used my pasta roller attachment to thin the dough out. It needs to be almost translucent but still held together. It’s pretty tough dough so move quickly before it dries out. It’s better to work in small batches.

Step 1: Once the pasta is rolled out into a thin sheet, cut two inch circles out and place on towel. (I used a small cup. Why someone who bakes almost every week doesn’t have a cookie cutter is beyond me…) Like so.

Step 2: Place a small dollop of the filling in the center of the circle. I used a piping bag to make it even, but this isn’t necessary at all. Just don’t fill too much!

Step 3: Have a small bowl of water nearby. Dip your finger in the water and run your hand around the edge of the circle, just until moist. Fold the circle in half and seal the edges.

Step 5: Fold the semi-circle around until it resembles the tortellini shape and pinch the edges together. Like so!

Voila! You’re an artisan pasta master. Needless to say, I’ll be eating tortellini for weeks. Can you imagine if I had used the whole recipe? Me neither.

I put them individual baggies in the freezer to pull out for a perfect and easy meal. These only take a few minutes to make, boil them until they rise to the surface of the water. I’ll be posting some fun recipes soon! Here’s the dough and filling recipe 🙂

Homemade Herbed Tortellini with Ricotta Filling adapted from Doughmesstic

Herbed Pasta Dough:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

3 eggs

1/4 tsp. of each spice, mixed together: garlic, oregano, basil, red pepper flakes, and some parmesan cheese.

Mix all ingredients on low with a mixer until ball forms. The dough will be tough. Take out and knead for at least 5-10 minutes until the dough starts to spring back at your touch. Cover with plastic wrap and rest for an hour.

Ricotta Cheese Filling:

15 0z. ricotta cheese (I used part-skim)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan Cheese

Salt and pepper

Mix the cheeses together and salt and pepper to taste. Place in plastic bag or piping bag and set in fridge until use.

To make the Tortellini:

Cut the dough in half and either with a rolling pin or pasta roller, roll the dough out very thin until barely translucent. Cut two-inch circles out and place on kitchen towel. Place a small dollop of cheese filling in the middle of each circle. Run moist finger around edges and fold circle in half, pressing together tightly. Fold ends around and pinch together until tortellini forms. Repeat with other half of dough. Freeze or serve immediately. Prepare as desired. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Main Courses, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

