Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cake

Happy Graduation to me!

Yes, folks, you heard it right. Next Saturday I will officially be a college graduate from the University of Florida. Ecstatic. Overjoyed. Confused. Scared out of my mind. These are all common emotions that cross my mind at least once a day. Needless to say, I’ve been extremely busy finishing up the last few weeks of classes (ever), coordinating graduation activities, and generally freaking out about the what the heck I’m going to do next. (No real progress on that one, yet.)So, from the bottom of my heart, I apologize for the past couple weeks of no posts. I’ve just been too dang busy. But in my opinion, this cake makes up for my silence and then some.

Peanut butter cake with peanut butter cream cheese frosting from a recipe in my new Joy the Baker cookbook. I’ve been eyeing this baby ever since I purchased the book, and thought why the heck not? It’s my graduation and I’ll eat cake if I want to. Also, I added chocolate chips to the batter because, well, I wanted to. I’m so glad that I did. The touch of rich, sweet chocolate adds just the right amount of contrast to the salty peanut butter.

This cake is really easy to whip up, but the only thing I didn’t have in my fridge was buttermilk. (I hardly ever do, it freaks me out.) So I solved that small crisis by mixing a tablespoon of vinegar with a cup of milk. Let it sit for a few minutes and you’re good to go!

The frosting is also delightful. Salty peanut butter with tangy cream cheese whipped to perfection and slathered over the top and sides. Eating this cake with a cup of milk is a must!

Thanks for bearing with me the last few weeks, friends. I’m so excited to find out what God has in store for me next! Here’s the recipe 🙂 Now go eat cake!

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cake with Peanut Butter Cream Cheese Frosting from Joy the Baker Cookbook

For the cake:

2 1/4 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup smooth peanut butter

3/4 stick butter, softened

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 eggs

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

1 cup chocolate chips (optional, but highly encouraged)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium-sized bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and set aside. With an electric mixer, beat the butter, peanut butter, sugar, and brown sugar together until fluffy, at least for a couple of minutes. Add half of the flour mixture and beat until incorporated. Slowly add in the buttermilk and beat until barely incorporated. Then add the rest of the flour mixture and mix until smooth. With a spatula, fold in the chocolate chips. Divide evenly between two 8 or 9 inch greased and floured cake pans. Bake for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely.

For the frosting:

1 stick butter

8 0z. cream cheese

1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons peanut butter

2 cups powdered sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

With a mixer, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Then add the butter and beat until both are incorporated. Add the peanut butter and mix. With the mixer on low, add the powdered sugar and vanilla extract and beat until smooth. Add the last two tablespoons of peanut butter and fold in with a spatula. This will give the frosting a pretty, marbled look. Frost the cake. Eat the cake. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cake

  1. thehungrymum says:

    What I wouldn’t give for a slice of this right now… Yum!

  2. Fionnuala San Juan says:

    Looking forward to making the cookies with Guinness frosting. No need for tacky green food coloring to be part of any Irish celebration:)

Leave a Reply

