Birthday Cake Martini

What better way to apologize for my recent lack of posts than a delicious offering of vodka and chocolate?

For my birthday last month we had a few friends over for a casual celebration with an abundance of cocktails and yummy food. We made this martini on a whim, and let me be frank in saying that not everyone was a fan. It’s sweet and girly and has a tendency to ward off any and all males in the vicinity. But don’t let its innocent facade fool you. It packs a punch!

There are a multitude of flavored vodkas out there now, including whipped cream, chocolate, etc. But since it was a birthday celebration and all, we went with birthday cake vodka and creamy, silky Godiva white chocolate liqueur that I could absolutely drink by itself. But mix the two together with a dash of cream and you have a killer martini that masquerades as a birthday cake.

To make it pretty, I rimmed the martini glass in multi-colored sprinkles. Just dip your glass in some milk, then dip the glass in a bowl of sprinkles. I also added a few shaves of white chocolate and milk chocolate, just for an extra pop of color and texture. I’ll try to give as exact a recipe as I possibly can, but to be quite honest I  absolutely winged it. I poured a dash of this, and a little dash of that until it was just right. (With lots of taste-testing along the way… Hey! It was my birthday after all!) The exact amount will probably depend on the hour and how many drinks the birthday girl (or guy) has consumed at this point, etc.

If you have a special occasion coming up to celebrate someone special, this is the perfect martini for you! Here’s the recipe 🙂

Birthday Cake Martini

You will need:

Birthday Cake Vodka (I used Pinnacle)

White Chocolate Liqueur (I used Godiva, I’m not sure how many other varieties there are anyway)

Cream (Half-and-half, heavy whipping, whatever!)

A martini shaker

Fill the martini shaker with ice cubes. Then fill the shaker half-way with the vodka. Add a tablespoon of the white chocolate liqueur and a dash of cream. (See? Not very exact.) Adjust as needed, according to taste. Shake thoroughly then pour into rimmed martini glass. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Cocktails, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Cake Martini

  1. Fionnuala San Juan says:

    Briana,
    I love the Godiva liquor! I’m not a martini fan, but this may change my mind. I will have to make this for one Susie Haynes! I’m doing a stint as chef for our parish priest and his staff this summer- love it as it reminds me of preparing food for our guests when we had our B&B in Ireland:) With that said, I plan to make your Caprese Pizza for everyone- I’m pretty sure they’ll love it. I may use Publix fresh dough to save time. Tomatoes are wonderful right now.
    I love reading your blog. Keep doing what your doing.
    Fionnuala San Juan

Leave a Reply

