Summer Cobb Salad

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m a big fan of California Pizza Kitchen, and I crave their CPK Cobb on a daily basis. Until recently, little ‘ole Jacksonville, Florida didn’t have the restaurant, and I felt deprived. Oh, so deprived. So, I had to be crafty.

This here salad is a dead ringer for their delectable Cobb, and the perfect dish for the hot summer months. It has great seasonal veggies like tomatoes and avocados which is why I have dubbed my rendition a “Summer” Cobb. I know. My imagination blows me away, too.

On a completely unnecessary side note, I just wanted to share with you my deep loathing for salads that contain huge, leafy scraps of lettuce. How am I supposed to fit a ginormous leaf into my mouth while also including all the trappings that inevitably make up any salad worth its salt? Nightmare. This is why chopped salads are completely and utterly perfect. So, I chop the heck out of my lettuce. Thank you for listening.

The basil in this salad is, in my opinion, what makes it so unique and delicious. It adds a fresh, summer flavory that not every salad contains. I chop the heck out of that too, to make sure there’s basil in every bite.

This salad is an absolute cinch to throw together, friends. This portion makes about 4 small salads, or two large, entree-sized portions. It’s perfect for a light lunch but even filling enough for dinner. It’s even been proven man-worthy! My brothers have all given it the thumbs up. Seriously, I could eat this every day. Here’s the recipe!

Summer Cobb Salad

2 heads of romaine lettuce

1/2 cup of finely chopped, fresh basil

1 tomato, chopped

1 avocado, sliced and chopped

4 slices of cooked bacon, roughly chopped

1 grilled chicken breast, chopped

1 hard-boiled egg, chopped

4 tablespoons of gorgonzola cheese

1/2 cup of blue cheese dressing

Chop the romaine and basil with a large knife and place into a large bowl. Toss with the blue cheese dressing. Add the tomato, avocado, bacon, egg, and chicken breast. Sprinkle generously with gorgonzola cheese, and salt and pepper to taste. Give another quick toss and serve.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Salads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

