Peach Cupcakes with Peach Cream Cheese Frosting

Don’t these festive cupcakes just scream “I love summer!”? Peaches are abundantly in season right about now and our fridge can’t hold enough of them. They’re juicy and ripe and just begging to be worked into all kinds of yummy recipes.

I first saw a recipe for Peach Cupcakes on Pinterest, but when I went to go check out the site a little more, I realized the recipe called for Freeze Dried Peaches which was problematic for a few reasons: 1)My little local Publix did not carry this curious item, and 2) I just couldn’t bring myself to use withered peaches when the stores are practically brimming with bright, luscious peaches. That’s a downright crime, if you ask me.

Luckily, after another cursory internet search, I came across another recipe from the trustworthy blog, Smitten Kitchen. Her recipe used small chunks of peaches, the riper the better, in the batter. I knew I found a winner. I adjusted a few minor things from her recipe; I used regular flour instead of cake flour, and I didn’t peel my peaches before I threw them in the batter. These adjustments didn’t really make much of a difference. The cupcakes were still scrumptious. They’d even be great as breakfast muffins, hot out of the oven! (If you look past the sugar and butter, etc…)

The cake part is crumbly and moist, with bright bursts of peach flavor scattered throughout. I didn’t use the icing recipe she offered and instead tried my hand at making my own. I started with a basic cream cheese frosting and added two pureed peaches. While it made the icing a tad runny, it turned out pretty delicious. Top these cupcakes with slices of fresh peaches and watch them disappear! Here’s the recipe.

Peach Cupcakes slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen with Peach Cream Cheese Frosting
3 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
pinch of salt
pinch of nutmeg
3/4 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
3 large peaches diced
 
Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line muffin tins with liners and lightly spray with cooking oil. This will prevent the cupcakes from sticking to the paper liners.
 
Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and nutmeg in a large bowl. Cream the butter and sugars together in bowl fitted with a mixer attachment. Add the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla. Make sure to scrape down the sides of the bowls every once in a while. Slowly mix in the buttermilk. Batter will be extremely soupy. Stir in the dry ingredients a couple of batches at a time. Then fold in the peach chunks carefully with a spatula.
 
With an ice cream scoop, fill the muffin tins about 3/4 of the way full with batter. Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool completely before frosting.
 
For the frosting:
Cream two sticks of room temperature butter with 8 oz. of cream cheese. Add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Meanwhile, slice and peel two peaches. Puree the peaches in a blender until smooth. Add a little at at time to cream cheese mixture. Slowly add three cups of confectioner’s sugar, adding a tablespoon at a time after that until desired consistently is met. If the frosting looks too soft, let chill in a freezer for 20 minutes before frosting. Pipe onto cupcakes with a pastry bag or plastic bag. Top with a slice of peach. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

