Butternut Squash Soup

Can you believe I’ve never had Butternut Squash before? It’s always been one of those items that I swore I would try some day, but just never got around to. After all, it looks like an overgrown squash or weird, disfigured pumpkin. Which I guess, technically, it actually is…? I was always a little tentative to try it.

As you can tell by my previous post, I’m seriously in a Fall kind of mood. Anything homey and resembling anything remotely of the Holidays is a priority in my life right now. Even though, unfortunately, Florida weather has crept back up into the daggone 80’s and is still unbearably humid. Is it too much for a girl to ask to be able to wear some cute boots and a comfy sweater around here? I mean honestly. I’m trying to get my Fall style on.

This soup was warm and savory with just a hint of sweetness. I filched the recipe from Southern Living, but due to some product restrictions that I overlooked (woops,) I adapted it to suit my needs (re: basically so I didn’t have to make another trip to the store.) It turned out beautifully.

Let’s just say, Butternut Squash and I are now pals. Welcome to the party!

Butternut Squash Soup adapted from Southern Living Magazine (recipe not online as of yet)

You will need:
8 baby carrots, cut into chunks
1 sweet onion, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1 3 lb. butternut squash, peeled, cored and cut into chunks
6 cups chicken broth
1 teaspoon of lemon zest
1 cup half-and-half
3 tablespoons of white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon of honey
1 teaspoon of salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon of hot sauce
paprika, for garnish
 
In a large pot, sautee the onions and carrots with the olive oil for at least 10 minutes until the veggies are slightly brown. Add the butternut squash, broth and the lemon zest. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer and let sit for at least 20 minutes. The squash should be fork tender. Stir in the cream, white wine vinegar, honey, salt, pepper and hot sauce. In a blender, puree the soup in batches, then transfer back into the pot until a smooth texture is formed. Serve immediately with sprinkle of paprika if desired. Enjoy!
 
This entry was posted in Fall Recipes, Lunch, Main Courses, Soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

