Pumpkin Spice Latte

Bet you didn’t see this one coming, huh? It’s such a departure from everything else I’ve been making lately… 😉

You know Fall has arrived when Starbucks brings back its crazy popular, pumpkin-flavored drink. When I was a youngin and still in school (meh,) I typically would get a Starbucks coffee at least once a week. After all, it was on my way to class and just oh, so convenient. Now that I’m a graduated gal (meh,) I rarely venture to a Starbucks unless I’m at an airport (in which case, I get two. Airports are the worst.)

Because I was craving Pumpkin Spice Lattes daily, but my wallet was not, I decided to create my own version of the Fall drink to have on hand. At this point, I’m sure anyone else would break down the cost of making your own latte compared to buying one from Starbucks and gloat triumphantly at the results. However, math just ain’t my thing, y’all, and I’m pretty sure I’d screw it up.

There is one thing I’m pretty darn confident about that doesn’t require rudimentary math skills. This latte is delicious! Here’s the very simple recipe 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Latte
 
You will need:
1 cup brewed coffee, I like mine strong
1/2 cup milk, I used 2%
1 tablespoon of canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
Coffee creamer, or half-and-half
Individual packets of Splenda (or regular sugar)
 
In a small saucepan, mix the milk, pumpkin, brown sugar, vanilla extract and pumpkin pie spice with a whisk. Over medium-heat, warm the milk mixture until steaming. Be careful not to scald the milk. When your the mixture is hot, remove from heat and divide evenly between two coffee mugs. Fill the rest of the mugs with the coffee. Add a dash of creamer to each and two packets of Splenda or another sweetener. Top with whipped cream and dash of pumpkin pie spice, if desired. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cocktails, Fall Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. miniscoffee says:

    Beautiful drink. Beautiful picture.

  2. Pingback: Iced Chai Tea Latte | A Slice of Bri

Leave a Reply

