Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts

I know I might be taking this whole pumpkin thing a little, well, overboard… but heck, you only really get a few months when everything pumpkin is acceptable. So I’m gonna milk it for all it’s worth.

I bought this adorable doughnut pan at Michael’s this weekend and of course had to try it out immediately. You know those people who buy new clothes and then wait forever to wear them? ‘Cause they’re waiting for a special occasion? I am (emphatically) not one of them. This also applies to household goods.

I was intrigued by the idea of baked doughnuts, mostly because I try not to fry anything unless I absolutely have to. And while I have never fried a doughnut in my life, I’ve definitely tasted one. (Krispy Kreme anyone? I die.)

The verdict: if you’re expecting a light fluffy, fried doughnut, you might be disappointed. This doughnut is very dense and cake-like. And coming from a girl who’s favorite kind of doughnut is actually the cake variety, I was in heaven. Of course, I coated the baked doughnuts in butter and dusted them with cinnamon and sugar, just for good measure. (Hey, I didn’t fry the darn things, after all!)

If you’re looking for a fun baking project this weekend and can’t get enough of pumpkin like me, give this recipe a shot! I promise you won’t be disappointed. Here’s the recipe!

Baked Pumpkin Doughnuts slightly adapted from Sweetened with Honey

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup canned pumpkin
1/2 cup milk
 
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside. In another bowl fitted with an electric mixer attachment, beat the oil and sugar together. Add the egg until mixed in. Then mix in the milk and pumpkin until just incorporated.  Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet ingredients a small batch at a time until all is incorporated. Do not mix for too long or the dough will become tough. Grease your doughnut pans. To fill the doughnut pan without using a piping bag, fill a large pastic, sealable bag with the batter. Cut a small hole in the corner and pipe the batter this way. Fill the batter all the way to the top of the doughnut indentions. The doughnuts will rise, but not by much.   Bake in a 350 degree F oven for 11 minutes. The doughnuts should be firm and spring back at your touch. Set on wire racks and let cool complete. When cooled, coat a doughnut with butter and dip it into a mixture of cinnamon and sugar, one by one. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Fall Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

